Sign up for our daily Newsletter and stay up to date with all the latest news!

Subscribe I am already a subscriber

You are using software which is blocking our advertisements (adblocker).

As we provide the news for free, we are relying on revenues from our banners. So please disable your adblocker and reload the page to continue using this site.

Click here for a guide on disabling your adblocker.

Sign up for our daily Newsletter and stay up to date with all the latest news!

Subscribe I am already a subscriber

PMA AU-NZ welcomes two new board members

News from the PMA Australia-New Zealand (PMA A-NZ) Annual General Meeting held on 19 November 2014 included the appointment of two new Board members, and the re-election of a third.

Rachel Audigé of Bayer CropScience (AU), and Ronan Bowles of Foodstuffs North Island Limited (NZ), will replace Rob Fisher of T&G (NZ), and Nick Pagett of Metcash Food and Grocery (AU), who both stepped down earlier in the year. Scott Davidson of Woolworths (AU) was also re-elected to the Board, having stepped into the role vacated by Paul Harker of Woolworths (AU).

In his 2014 Chairman's address, John Said, Managing Director of Fresh Select and Chair of the PMA A-NZ Board, welcomed the new directors and acknowledged the contribution of those stepping down:

"Paul Harker was only on the Board for a short time but his contribution was always incisive and thought-provoking, leading to a number of initiatives;

"Nick Pagett was always a great supporter from the independent retail sector and a great believer in supporting the young professionals in our industry through sponsorship of our annual networking event for them; and Robert Fisher not only provided us with valuable insights into the New Zealand industry but was also a great Chairman of the PMA Fresh Connections Task Force, which delivered such a successful event in Auckland in June" he said.

"While we are losing a great amount of knowledge and experience with the retirement of these three board members, we are confident that the knowledge, skills and experience of our new board members will add tremendous value moving forward."

Mr Said also expressed his gratitude to the many volunteers – including board members – who work tirelessly alongside PMA A-NZ throughout the year:

"A critical component of the PMA ethos is its volunteerism and we would not be able to do what we do without the tireless involvement of more than 40 volunteers from a broad cross-section of our member-companies, and in particular those on the Board who give so much of their time to further the interests of PMA A-NZ."

Throughout the address, Mr Said emphasised PMA A-NZ's milestone developments over the past year including:

• the introduction of the Platinum and Diamond membership categories;
• the establishment of the Fresh Produce Safety Centre in conjunction with the University of Sydney and Horticulture Innovation Australia (formerly HAL);
• the addition of two new staff members, Camilla Philip and Richard Bennett, to the PMA A-NZ team;
• the first-ever PMA Fresh Connections in Auckland, New Zealand, and subsequent launch of the new-look 2015 event;
• the announcement of a strategic partnership with the Institute of Food and Grocery management to create the PMA A-NZ Produce Executive Program; and
• the launch of our most extensive member survey since PMA A-NZ was incorporated five years ago.

"PMA A-NZ has been in existence for five years now as the first stand-alone global affiliate of the Produce Marketing Association and we continue to grow in stature and in our influence in the organisational landscape in the Australian and New Zealand fresh produce industries" he said.

"We are now moving up a gear in the scope and intensity of our various Programs and activities, so we urge all members to remain engaged and work with us, in whatever form, to make PMA A-NZ strong and highly relevant to our fantastic industry" he finished.

The full PMA A-NZ Board for 2014-2015 consists of:
• John Said, Fresh Select (AU) - Chair
• Tristan Harris, Harris Farm (AU) - Vice Chair
• Michaelis Bambacas, Lynch Group (AU) - Treasurer
• Andrew Keaney, T&G (NZ)
• Charlotte Connoley, South Pacific Seed Sales (NZ) Ltd (NZ)
• Emma Townsend, Fibre King (AU)
• Joe Craggs, Tropical Pines (AU)
• Martin Kneebone, Freshlogic (AU)
• Scott Davidson, Woolworths (AU)
• Rachel Audigé , Bayer CropScience (AU)
• Ronan Bowles, Foodstuffs North Island Limited (NZ)

Publication date: