Spotted lanternfly quarantine expands to five more New Jersey counties

The spotted lanternfly has officially been sighted in five more New Jersey counties, bringing the total to 13 counties considered in the quarantine zone. The latest additions are Morris, Monmouth, Middlesex, Essex, and Union counties, the state Department of Agriculture announced Monday. Burlington, Camden, Gloucester, Hunterdon, Mercer, Salem, Somerset and Warren counties were already within the quarantine area.

Infestations and individual sightings of spotted laternflies have been found in nearly every county in the state, according to a map of confirmed spotted lanternfly locations.

The invasive bugs, which are native to East Asia and first arrived in Pennsylvania in 2014, launched an aggressive spread across New Jersey this summer. Although the insect is not a threat to humans, it is known to feed on 70 different types of plants and trees.


Publication date:

Receive the daily newsletter in your email for free | Click here

Other news in this sector:

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Instagram Rss

© 2021

Sign up for our daily Newsletter and stay up to date with all the latest news!

Subscribe I am already a subscriber