USDA appoints nine members to serve on the National Watermelon Promotion Board

The U.S. Department of Agriculture announced the appointment of nine members to serve on the National Watermelon Promotion Board. The appointees will serve three-year terms from Jan. 1, 2021, to Dec. 31, 2023. 

Members newly appointed or reappointed are:

  • District 1 Producer: Kyler Bishop, Punta Gorda, Florida
  • District 1 Producer: Chad Chastain, Punta Gorda, Florida
  • District 1 Handler: Stephen R. Nichols, Lakeland, Florida
  • District 1 Handler: Rob Gibson, Vero Beach, Florida
  • Importer: Matthew N. Tanner, Pompano Beach, Florida
  • Importer: Christopher M. Dyer, Mission, Texas
  • Importer: Christian Murillo, Nogales, Arizona
  • Importer: Jeff Fawcett, Edinburg, Texas
  • Public Member: Craig A. Stokes, San Antonio, Texas

The National Watermelon Promotion Board now has 30 members composed of 10 producers, 10 handlers, nine importers and one public member. Approximately one-third of the board members are appointed each year. Members can serve up to two consecutive three-year terms.

For more information:
National Watermelon Promotion Board
Tel: +1 (407) 657-0261 

Publication date:

Receive the daily newsletter in your email for free | Click here

Other news in this sector:

Sign up for our daily Newsletter and stay up to date with all the latest news!

Subscribe I am already a subscriber