Job Offers

Specials more

Top 5 -yesterday

Top 5 -last week

Top 5 -last month

NSW Farmers welcome disaster declarations

The state’s peak agricultural body has welcomed disaster declarations for 17 Local Government Areas affected by heavy rain and flooding.

NSW Farmers Business, Economics and Trade Committee Chair Bill McDonnell said while communities were still very much in survival mode, this move would get the ball rolling on recovery efforts to come.

“We have never seen anything quite on the scale of this devastation in the state’s north, and our hearts go out to the families and friends of those who have lost loved ones,” Mr McDonnell said.

“Time and again this important agricultural area has been hit by torrential rains and flooding, and we are already looking at ways to help farmers recover from the devastation.

“It will be a long road to recovery, but together we will get through this.”

The 17 Local Government Areas declared as disaster areas and eligible for support through Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements (DRFA) are:  Armidale, Ballina, Bellingen, Byron, Clarence Valley, Coffs Harbour, Glen Innes Severn, Hornsby, Kempsey, Kyogle, Lismore, Nambucca, Port Macquarie/Hastings, Richmond, Tenterfield, The Hills and Tweed. 

For more information:
Steve Mudd
NSW Farmers
Tel.: +61 0429 011 690

Publication date:

Receive the daily newsletter in your email for free | Click here

Other news in this sector:

Sign up for our daily Newsletter and stay up to date with all the latest news!

Subscribe I am already a subscriber