The Mushroom Council announces newly elected officers

At the February 18 Council virtual meeting, the Mushroom Council® elected new officers for 2021.

  • Chairperson: Sonya Beltran, director of operations, Masda Mushrooms/First Generation Farms, Toughkenamon, Pa.
  • Vice-Chairperson: Curtis Jurgensmeyer, CEO, J-M Farms, Miami, Okla.
  • Secretary: Emily Bettencourt, director of quality assurance and safety, Global Mushrooms, Gilroy, Calif.
  • Treasurer: Mark Moran, Kaolin Mushrooms/South Mill Champs, Kennett Square, Pa. 

The nine-member Council is comprised of eight domestic growers and one importer representing four regions. The program's purpose is to maintain and expand existing mushroom markets and uses. Members are:

Region 1 (Includes all states except for Calif. and Pa.)

  • Curtis Jurgensmeyer, J-M Farms Inc.
  • Edward M. Wuensch III, Kitchen Pride Mushroom Farm
  • M. Fletcher Street, Ostrom Mushrooms

Region 2 (Includes Pennsylvania)

  • Joe Caldwell, Giorgi Mushroom Company
  • Sonya Beltran, Masda Mushrooms/First Generation Farms
  • Meghan Klotzbach, C.P. Yeatman & Sons/Mother Earth
  • Mark Moran, South Mill/Champs Mushrooms  

Region 3 (Includes Calif.)

  • Emily Bettencourt, Global Mushrooms  

Region 4 (Includes importers)

  • Jane Rhyno, Highline Mushrooms  

Mushroom Council calls for nominations for 2022-2024 term
A call for nominations for three-year terms beginning January 1, 2022, is now open. Completed nomination forms must be emailed or postmarked no later than May 1, 2021. The regions with positions available are: 

  • Region 2 (Pa.) – two open positions
  • Region 3 (Calif.) – one open position

For more information
Cheryl Abbate
Mushroom Council

Publication date:

Receive the daily newsletter in your email for free | Click here

Other news in this sector:

Sign up for our daily Newsletter and stay up to date with all the latest news!

Subscribe I am already a subscriber